Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie with Extreme Foam Problem--Please Help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie with Extreme Foam Problem--Please Help!

Hey guys, I just joined the site and I'm dying for some advice. Basically, I'm a 22 year old college student who bought a kegerator from these kids who lived in the house before us. It's a fridge converted to a kegerator with a kit from ***************.com.

Last night I had some guys over to hang out and watch the devils game. I got 2 kegs of keystone (only the best beer, right? haha). I carried them downstairs and tapped the first one in about 10 minutes and threw it in the fridge (that might've been my first mistake---tapping it too soon?). I tapped it, turned on the co2 tank, opened the co2 line, and tried to pour a beer. It was entirely foam, and I figured that was normal, so I kept pouring and pouring and it was literally all foam, zero beer. I'm a newbie so I wasnt really sure what I was doing, although i have read some extensive articles online to try and learn about it more. I checked the pressure and it was about 18 psi--which I knew was wayyyy too high. I assumed the kids had the pressure set beforehand so thats why I didn't check it before pouring (dumb, i know). So, I tried to lower the pressure and I eventually got it down to about 10psi. However, cup after cup after cup was all foam. I figured maybe since we had so much pressure when we originally tapped it that maybe the keg was still too pressurized, and I didnt know how to relieve the pressure that was already in the keg. We decided to turn off the co2 and just pour until the pressure was completely gone. It worked beautifully and we were getting pretty good beer. The beer looked like it was falling out with just enough foam, and not like the beer firehose we had a few hours earlier.