PSI for Shock Top?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PSI for Shock Top?

Anyone know the proper PSI for Shock Top beer? I bought my first 1/6 keg last night and plan on tapping it this evening. I've never done this before so I want to make sure I know what my steps should be when I tap it and what PSI is common for this type of beer.

Thanks.

GM

You need to read around here a bit, the number you need is not the psi but the v/v or volumes of CO2. Then you need to know the temparature of your second pour, and a force carbonation chart. There are links to the charts here, read any of the foam threads and you should find the links to the chart. Shock top is an A-B product so the v/v should be 2.7. With that and the temperature you should be able to find your pressure in the chart.
    What I have: Haier two tap, 525 faucets, tower cooler, 10' lines

Comment

Yes, ShockTop is 2.7 v/v. I set mine at 13 PSI with a second pour temp of 38 degrees and it was fine the whole time.
      On tap now: Homebrewed Nut Brown Ale, Oatmeal Stout, Altbier and Berry Blonde Ale.

My Kegerator with Photos

My Kegerator With Photos Update

Comment

Thanks for the info! I've been reading a lot on the v/v and PSI. So, when I get home tonight with the co2 tank, what's the first thing I should be doing? Connecting it to the coupler and then tapping the keg? Anything I should be looking for? I've read a lot about pouring the first glass and chugging it, then checking the temp on the second glass.

Comment