Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help! C02 pressure to keg keeps changing!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help! C02 pressure to keg keeps changing!

Any help or insight would be most appreciated! Here's my story:built a kegerator out of an old mini fridge. Have a dual gage regulator. I set it at 12psi and was running my fridge temp at 34. The next day I checked pressure and it was at 15psi, which was too much. So I set it again at 12psi and changed my temp to 36. The next day it reads 10 psi. Are these fluctuations normal? Why can't I get it to just stay where I set it? I am hoping when I get home today it at at least stays at ten psi and doesn't drop any lower! Do psi levels just randomly change like this? I am new to this, thanks for your help!!

No, that's not normal. Once you set the regulator, it shouldn't move. Where did you get the regulator?

Home Brew IPA

Comment

Micromatic. I have read some posts where people say it takes 24 hours for it to reach it's final resting place, but this is driving me crazy. Do you think the regulator may be bad? I know its not leaking because at first it had a rise in pressure...thanks for any help because this is driving me nuts...

Comment

I just spoke with micromatic and they said after I set my psi to pull the relief pin on my coupler and see what it bounces back to. They said to repeat this until it bounces back to my target psi. I have not been pulling the relief pin previously after setting the psi. Does this sound right?

Comment

tmakrush,

I've been adjusting my psi that way b/c once you relieve some pressure in the keg the regulator will quickly in a second or so adjust its outlet pressure to your new setting. If you adjust the regulator and don't do this the regulator will take some time to show the full adjustment. I'd take their advice it works for me.

Comment