Beverage Air BM23C for 50 Bucks!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beverage Air BM23C for 50 Bucks!!!

So I have a guy selling a SS Beverage Air BM23C for $50. He said it is about 10 years old and still cools (dont know how well) but did mention it may have a freon leak???

I am no expert but it sounds like a good deal for a project. Just wanted to get some help from everyone...lets say condensor is shot...What ball park figure would it cost to buy a new condensor? Rebuilt? I am in AZ near PHX.

Also, what should I look for, my thought is have the guy turn it on before I leave, its about an hour drive, with a glass of water and take my digital gauge to read the water. Any other things I should look for?

Thanks for any help this could be a great project.

Have him have it plugged in and on like you planned. If it is cold at all, it is worth far more than 50 bucks.

I'm betting you get it home, clean the coils and then post here about the great deal you got.
    Malt is the soul of beer... and yeast gives it life..
    but the kiss of the hop is the vitality of that life!

My three favorite beers: The one I just had, the one I'm drinking now and the next one I'll have.

http://kegerator-social-network.micr...bygrouptherapy

Comment

I sure hope so...I am going tomorrow night to check it out. Any other tips?

Comment

if it has a freon leak... ask him if he's had it re-charged. These are sealed systems, so a leak means a refrigeration technician would need to find the leak, seal it, and re-charge the system. It's not like a car AC that can just be charged up. If it truly had a leak, and no one looked at it, it would be empty. If it's just not cooling enough, it may just be dirty, and the coils need cleaning, like psychodad said.

Home Brew IPA

Comment