Fridge broke keg got warm now what?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fridge broke keg got warm now what?

Hi guy's, I'm Jim and I'm an alcho uuhh I mean I'm a newbie. I found your site a month or so ago while looking for a kegerator and found it invaluable too me. Since then I found a good used fridge converted to a kegerator and picked it up for $75 with everything including a 20# Co2 tank nearly full. A few days after installing my first 1/2 keg of Labatt blue the fridge started too warm up. It (the keg, tap,etc) worked perfectly till that point. I thought my great deal wasn't so great. I discovered the compressor starter burnt up and installed a new stronger aftermarket one and volia, cold beer again! While the fridge & keg got warm my pressure ran from 10 to 15 psi. I live at 700' above sea level. The foam was unreal! now my nearly full 1/2 keg seems to be flat. It taste fine so far just flat. I saw some threads re; recarbonating but as I was not a member couldn't get at the info and don't know if the beer is still usable or not. I don't want to waste $70 worth of beer if I can help it. Does anyone out there know if and what I can do? As I have read threads I can tell you that I don't own a thermometer to dip in my mug o' beer or anything else many threads say I may need for one thing or another. The beer was and now is cold, It poured well till the fridge got warm and now it is flat. Is it rose food now or can it be fixed? Thank you all in advance, Jim

Well...when it goes from cold to warm......you basically get a form of secondary fermentation.....

How long has it been warm?
    On tap:
    1/2 bbl of Lienenkugel's Original

Gone, but not forgotten: (Sadly, Walter Payton's is gone)
    Sixtel of Sam Adams OctoberFest
    Sixtel of Walter Payton's Peat Smoked Scotch Ale
    Corny of Payton's Dancing Bear Honey Wheat
    Corny of Walter Payton's Aurora Amber Ale (both a malty and extra hoppy version)