Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Leave CO2 on between beers?

Hi,

I recently bought a used kegerator and threw in a keg of my favorite local brew; and I've got a couple questions I was hoping someone might help me with.

Is there any reason to leave the CO2 on between pours? Will the beer go flat if I shut it off?

How long should a 5 pound CO2 tank last? I just hooked a newly filled tank up about 10 beers ago and its suddenly down to half capacity according to the regulator. I suspect a leak.

At what point to I pull the little pressure release ring on the coupler?

Any insights are appreciated. Thanks.

Ummm, I'm kind of new with these kegerators, but I'm pretty sure as long as you have your keg tapped, you want your CO2 on putting pressure on your keg, I didn't think you were to turn it off ever, unless you were switching out kegs or taking out a keg.

If you have a leak it could be if you don't have washers in the right place? I think you can tell by applying soaping water near the seals and seeing if it bubbles.

Thats about all I can help with, others will come along and correct me and give you some advice on the other issues as well.
    "When the Okies left Oklahoma and went to California, the average intelligence of both states went up." -Will Rogers

Comment

Originally posted by astroman71 View Post
      Hi,

I recently bought a used kegerator and threw in a keg of my favorite local brew; and I've got a couple questions I was hoping someone might help me with.

Is there any reason to leave the CO2 on between pours? Will the beer go flat if I shut it off?

How long should a 5 pound CO2 tank last? I just hooked a newly filled tank up about 10 beers ago and its suddenly down to half capacity according to the regulator. I suspect a leak.

At what point to I pull the little pressure release ring on the coupler?

Any insights are appreciated. Thanks.

Leave the co2 on as long as your beer is tapped.