BeverageAir BM23/Newcastle temp & foam issues

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BeverageAir BM23/Newcastle temp & foam issues

Hi there, newbie here. I bought a used BM23 and put a keg of Newcastle in. I was getting too much foam, but the beer seemed flat. So I upped the CO2, but kept having foam issues. The previous owner had a 2' copper beer line, and it had a kink in it. Reading this forum, I decided to replace it with a 6' vinyl 1/2" OD beer line. That seemed to help, and I got a good pour. That was yesterday. Today, nothing but foam. Taking the temp of the beer, I can't get it lower than 43-44 degrees. So I know that's not cold enough, though I think Newcastle can be a bit warmer than some other beers and still be good. Having a higher temp, I've increased the CO2 to 18-20 psi. It seems fizzy enough, but still TONS of foam.

Does it all come down to temp when it comes to all the foam? Not sure what else to do...

Oh, and I noticed mark_ksz's advice of turning off the CO2 and running the keg for about 30 seconds. I did that, and eventually it was coming out less foamy and more clear. Then I turned back on the CO2...tons of foam again.

Getting rid of the copper line was a must. What is the ID of the beer line, we don't need the OD. Yes the temp is too warm. What is your elevation?

Comment

Make sure all the fans are working in that BM23 and any coils are clean. That unit should get way colder that. What you want is 38 deg beer (measured with a calibrated thermometer, very important) 5-6ft of 3/16" ID beer safe line, 12 to 14 psi at that temp and beer line.

Comment

You need to get the beer under 40 degrees to avoid the foam. Set your pressure down to 7-9 PSI depending on your elevation, and don't mess with it - get your temp under control to fix your foam.

Also, your keg needs to be balanced pressure wise, the method described of running off the pressure and then adding it back serves no practical purpose, and is wrong-thinking.