Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Keg Coupler 5/16 and 3/16 beer hose causing foam?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Keg Coupler 5/16 and 3/16 beer hose causing foam?

I am new to the kegerator world, however I built my own standalone out of an old refrigerator. The fridge is 5-6' away from the wall where my tap is. I ran 2 insulated PVC from the fridge to the wall. I also installed a 20 CFM blower with tubing all the way to the shank. Beer is mich ultra. 1st and 2nd pour are both 37 degrees, so I know that I am not getting warm in the PVC, however I am getting about 1/2 a glass of foam. It appears that i have a small amount of turbulence as soon as I open that handle that creates a small amount of foam, which turns into more foam as I pour. I am set on 12PSI right now. I have turned the PSI up to 14 and 16, however when I turn up the PSI the foam gets progressively worse with the higher PSI. If I turn the PSI down to 10 I get a great pour, but am concerned with beer going flat. I do have 3/16" food grade line that is about 9' long. My question is my keg coupler has a 5/16" barb fitting on it. I boiled some water and pressed the 3/16" line onto the barb fitting. It fits great, however I am wondering could going from 5/16 at the barb to 3/16 hose create the small amount of foam I am seeing at the beginning? Any help would greatly be appreciated.

I would suggest that you redo your line. Do about 51/2 ft of 3/16th line and do the remainder that you need 5/16. Start your pressure at around 12 and play with it one lb at time. Also, take a temperature of the first pour, after it hasn't been used for a few hours. That will tell you if your beer is getting warm in the chase.

Comment