No announcement yet.

New kegerator woes, advice appreciated!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New kegerator woes, advice appreciated!

So ive been reading, and gathering knowledge from this forum for a couple weeks now......been applying it, and im still running into trouble. I guess you could say im a noob, although ive had a diy kegerator a decade ago, and used to home brew with buddies then. But back then i of course had different equipment/setup, ( a full sized fridge etc). What im currently working with is a pre-fab keg kit you would pick up from a box store, tower, lines, etc all included. Its 450.00 unit originally, which by today's standard is **** by todays standard, but nonetheless, i got a crazy deal on it, and thought how bad can it be? Well, nothing like what i had before. In fact ive never had problems like this with my previous setup. Currently im pouring a 46 degree first glass (foam), 41 degree 2nd, 3rd @ 39.5, 4th @ 39, 5th +6th @ 38! Since ive had for about a month now, ive ran new beer line @ 5ft which was brew shop recommended, put on a new faucet, new regulator, temp controller, and have a 4 fan setup, daisy chained together for good air flow, (i know, fan overkill, maybe....lol). The cabinet is tight, not a ton of room on the sides, so 2 fans sit above keg, by front door, blowing down the door and back through the sides, other fan is on comp hump, blowing up through cold plate, 4th blows the air from the bottom fan toward the 2 in front. So heres where it gets weirder. Im currently at 29.8 degrees w/7 degree CD. (Worried about freezing another keg, which currently is rolling rock, for testing purposes). Im still averaging the above temps, as ive been running the gambit of settings. At my current setting, my cycle is 7 min on, 24 min off, not good, i know. But my lowest setting can only be a .5 cd swing. Ive dropped my co2 to 8 psi, because every glass is mostly foam, the best being 2/3 foam, but beer taste good, carb decen