Temperature fluctuation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Temperature fluctuation

Forgive me, as I'm completely new to owning a kegerator, and I have next to zero idea what I'm doing. I have read through the entire "Read this first" section, and have searched through a few other threads.

The problem I am having is that the temperature inside my kegerator isn't consistent. I don't have a built in thermometer as it is just a cheap Insignia 2 faucet kegerator from Best Buy, so I am using a freezer thermometer. When I come home form work in the evening, and no one has touched the kegerator, I'll open the door, and it is between 42-44 degrees. Yet when I check it again a few hours later before I go to bed, the thermometer will read about 32 degrees. Is this an issue with the kegerator, or a bad thermometer?

The reason I'm believing the issue is with the kegerator is that I can't get a good pour. I have a 1/6 barrel of Landshark, and a 1/6 barrel of Blue Moon. Shortly after setup, I could get mostly decent pours from the Blue Moon, and okay pours with a little excess foam from the landshark. Now, I cant get a good pour to save my life. It's all foam every time. I get MAYBE 1/4 inch of beer at the bottom, and the rest is foam. I finally wrapped the hoses around the top of the kegs last night, I didn't realize that was an issue, but that hasn't changed anything at all. HELP!