Newbie, Kegerator foaming issues, Please help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie, Kegerator foaming issues, Please help

I am a kegerator newbie, got my 1st Summit kegerator about a month ago. The first 1/6 keg of Blue Moon I got was great, perfect foam level and pours. The PSI was set to 10 and the kegerator temp was set to 32. We had a party went through the keg in one day. Then, I replaced with a 1/2 keg of Blue Moon. Same exact CO2 and temperature. I was getting great pours for the 1st 2 weeks. Then, out of nowhere, the pour is nearly all foam and has been for several days. I tried to bump up the pressure to about 14 psi after reading several forums, but that just made the problem worse.. it's still all foam but now it just comes out quicker. I have a 5 foot line and 3/16 thick with a tower. Any suggestions are much appreciated.

Side question, I have been messing with the co2 so much, now it seems like no matter how much turning I do, it's hard to actually change the pressure. Should the co2 pressure on the gage change immediately as I am turning it?

Read any of the threads here about foam, your issue is no different. You need to understand balance, and the first step there is getting control of your variables - beer temp (not "what the kegerator is set at"), the volumes of CO2 for the beer, and the applied pressure for those two settings. You likely didn't have issues with the first keg because it was gone so quickly, the second keg has had time to react to the poor set up conditions.
    What I have: Haier two tap, 525 faucets, tower cooler, 10' lines

Comment

Thanks for the reply... I've been doing a lot of reading and still haven't been able to get the foam down. What is the best way to take the temp of my beer if not to go by the kegerator setting? Pour a glass and put a thermometer in it? Sorry the basic question...newb here.