Best plan for kegs at wedding

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best plan for kegs at wedding

Hi everyone, I'm a novice with a few questions I'd really love your help with. Thanks in advance...

Background: My younger brother is getting married at the end of June and he wants to serve 3 different beers in kegs at the wedding. It will be a backyard wedding in upstate NY where the temperature could be anywhere from 60-85 deg. F that day. There will be about 220 guests. I've read a decent amount, but still have a few questions and I would appreciate everyone's input.

Questions:
    1. There will be two bars, one for cocktail hour and one for the reception. If we have 3 kegs within kegerators at the cocktail hour bar, is it OK to unplug them, roll them about 50 yards (on their caster wheels) down the paved driveway and plug them back in at the reception bar? Or will this cause foam & other problems? I'm concerned there might be some consequence to doing this that I'm unaware of.

2. If there are additional, untapped kegs on ice at the reception bar, is there any problem with connecting them to the kegerators if/when the initial keg runs out of beer and needs replacing? Assuming it is already chilled from being on ice, can the beer be served immediately or will it need to sit for a bit before being served?

Thanks!

I would not use 1/2 barrels for the simple fact that not every guest will be drinking beer more than likely, and I doubt you will go through 3 of them, buy sixtels would be my advise (if available in the beers you want) I took two sixtels to a Redskins tailgate party this past season and used a jockey box/cooler , there must of easily been 500 people that passed through, and we barely kicked both of those kegs, which is my point, not everyone drinks beer
    https://scontent-iad3-1.xx.fbcdn.net...19&oe=57AB4838

Question 1, yes its okay to unplug it and move it 50 yards