Which Danby to Buy?..Other Recommendations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which Danby to Buy?..Other Recommendations

I'm new to the forum and actually still contemplating which kegerator to buy. Danby seems to be getting good reviews. I notice there are two different "reasonably priced" ones available... the 645 and the 646. The only difference I can see in the literature is that the 646 can be left outside and it also has a fan cooled condenser. Can anyone weigh-in on the choices....there's ~$200 difference. Would the fan cooled condenser help with some of the cooling issues I've read about in this forum... (e.g. help eliminate some foam on first pours, as well as ensure good, consistent temp control)?

Thanks all.... this seems like a terrific forum for newbees like myself!!!
    "I feel sorry for people who don't drink. When they wake up in the morning, that's as good as they're going to feel all day."
    Sinatra

I'm a newbie like you. i can make most anything work and seldom take the exact same route as others.

Iwanted somtheing that I could have up and running immediately so I went for teh Danby. Price is the real draw here. I went with the outdoor one just for the halibut I guess.

If I had time I would consider building my own.

If I were heavy into this stuff and wanted to buy something ready top go I would look at a better unit.

Overall though if Danby would make about 3 simple changes/upgrades to these units they would be hard to beat.

Comment

A fan cooled condenser won't help any on the initial foamy pour of the day. That is going to be fixed by forced air cooling the tower.
      Malt is the soul of beer... and yeast gives it life..
      but the kiss of the hop is the vitality of that life!

My three favorite beers: The one I just had, the one I'm drinking now and the next one I'll have.

http://kegerator-social-network.micr...bygrouptherapy

Comment