DIY Kegerator Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DIY Kegerator Questions

Just a little backgound info, I'm a college student and basically my friends and I just want beer on tap in our apartment, and might at some pointstart brewing our own beer. We don't want to spend $500+ on a kegerator, so we're planning on making our own and have a couple of questions before we get started.

First of all, any online instructions you recommend? Here's a guide I found online, anything more detailed I should see, or does this about sum it up?
    Part 10: The D.I.Y. Kegerator - Kegerators.com

what kind of kit do you recommend? This is the most inexpensive kit I could find, is it a good kit? http://www.micromatic.com/draft-keg-...-pid-RK-1.html

How do Keg Couplers differ from each other? Is any $80 Keg Coupler much better than a $30 one? How does the Keg Coupler effect the beer/kegerator?

How does the size of the CO2 tank effect the beer/kegorator? Is it advantageous to spend more money on a bigger tank?

Is a regulator a must-have piece/is it required for the kegerator to function?

What parts need to be refrigerated? If I have a fridge big enough to store the keg, but not the CO2 tank too, would it be a bad idea to drill an addition hole in the side and store the CO2 tank outside the fridge.

As you can see, we are trying to make the best kegerator possible, while saving the most money. All advice is appreciated. Thanks!

Originally posted by rosenstar View Post
    Just a little backgound info, I'm a college student and basically my friends and I just want beer on tap in our apartment, and might at some pointstart brewing our own beer. We don't want to spend $500+ on a kegerator, so we're planning on making our own and have a couple of questions before we get started.

First of all, any online instructions you recommend? Here's a guide I found online, anything more detailed I should see, or does this about sum it up?