trying to beat the system if that makes sense

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• trying to beat the system if that makes sense

I am really new to to having draft beer (kegerator) I am using hand me downs that I cleaned very well and new 5/16 line. I understand that the proper temp is 38 degrees, but I like my beer very coldI actually froze my lines twice. oops. anyways I have about 20" of line that runs outside of the fridge to my shank and faucet that is built into my bar. I currently have my tem at about 28 deg measured with digital thermometer in the fridge can I just bump my pressure down ( which I have done) to around 7 psi to overcome the over carbonation and foaming which I think I have a handle on now?? or am I just fighting a battle I can't win to have really cold beer?? any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks

Having the coldest...

...beer in town, means you don't have the best tasting beer in town. It is going to overcarbonate because of your low temp. Or its going to go flat because of your low pressure.
    Balance your system, and you won't have problems, and you will have really good beer.
    SEAN
    I cool my tower with Beer.
    http://www.micromatic.com/draft-keg-...-cid-2297.html

Comment

You might as well be serving "water on the rocks" if you are serving beer that low in temperature. All you are doing is masking the taste as they don't fully come out when it's that cold.
      On Tap: Corny of a Hombrewed American Pale Ale, Corny of Homebrewed Cherry Wheat and Remain of a Miller Lite half tranfered into a Corny! Now an official Homebrewer.

Dead: (7) 1/2's of Miller Lite, (1) 1/2 of Blue Moon (6) 1/6's of Blue Moon, (4) 1/6's of Shocktop (2) 1/6's of Landshark Lager (1) 1/4 Yuengling, (1) 1/6 Victory Summer Love (1) 1/6 of Shipyard Pumpkinhead Ale (1) 1/6 Shipyard Prelude.

Comment

Originally posted by ttrowbridge795 View Post