Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Modded Danby problems

Hey all,
    I'm new to the board here. I'm an engineering student at the University of Illinois. I decided I was going to get myself a kegerator for my birthday, and when doing research I stumbled across the forum and read the Danby improvement post.

Looked on Craigslist for kegerators and saw a used Danby for sale on my campus. The previous owner didn't seem too technically inclined and said it started having cooling problems- it wasn't getting as cold as he wanted. I figured it was probably the notorious sensor issues and decided to take it off his hands. For $160 I got a 3 year old Danby with 2 full 5lb CO2 tanks.

I decided to test the unit before I even attempt to put a 1/2 barrel in. I did the 33k ohm resistor mod and moved the sensor close to the door at the top of the unit. I have not upgraded the fan nor have I installed a blower. Just the sensor mods for now. I have a glass of water inside the unit and with the Danby set at 36F the coldest I can get the water is 54.9F.

Since I can't get the water any colder than 54.9F, does this sound like it's a refrigeration problem? Is there any way I can check the refrigerant level? Is there a way to diagnose the compressor to see if it's not operating at full potential? I want to make sure all the refrigeration components are good before I buy a standalone temperature controller.

Thanks,
    Sean

P.S. The unit is being stored indoors, not outside. Also, the compressor was pretty warm before I decided to turn off the unit.
    Last edited by SIeeper; 05-10-2008, 12:41 PM.

Is the compressor running continuously or is it cycling on & off. If it is cycling then I would think it is a control problem.

They generally do not put service valves on those small units so the only way to check the refrigerant is to add a tap valve. If you are not familiar with the normal operating pressures for that refrigerant I would leave it.