Yet another Danby Dilemma

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yet another Danby Dilemma

Hi everyone! Great info here-- seriously considering voiding my warranty to get some real performance from my Danby. Here is my situation. I keep my Danby on the back Patio (covered but not weatherproof) and our summers here in TN tend to get into the upper 90's and stay there for months. Moving the keg indoors is out of the question, Mama says no way. So...what do I need to do to keep it cooling?? and another new development, my contorl panel went inoperative today. read 37 and was really about 65 OMG!!
    Now the Dilemma. Do I mod this sucker with over 12 months left under warrany, or do I try calling Danby for service??? I am a Mechanic and former electronics Tech in the US Navy, so modding is not a problem. Is it gonna be worth it to call Danby, or just say screw it and mod it to work? TIA for all your help!

First off: GO NAVY!! As a Submarine LT here...the mods are easy. No problem for you.

Second, I never thought twice about the warranty. I was getting crap beer. What is the point of dealing with a shabby machine when I am perfectly capable of fixing it myself. I am so happy with my product now I never look back.

Start the mods....

Comment

Doing these mods is going to help, but it still will be far from making the unit suitable for outside use. You are going to find that as the weather warms up, the compressor is going to have to run longer to keep temperatures cool. This is going to be a strain on the compressor motor. You may want to fill some milk jugs with water and place inside the Danby filling the dead space as they will stay cold longer than air. A box fan placed by the unit to insure air circulation may not be a bad idea as well. And keep the opening and closing of the door to a minimum.
      Malt is the soul of beer... and yeast gives it life..
      but the kiss of the hop is the vitality of that life!