Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Refrigerator Conversion - Door Panel Replacement???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Refrigerator Conversion - Door Panel Replacement???

Hey all - Im in the process of building my first kegerator. Im converting an older refrigerator/freezer (Bottom Fridge/Top Freezer) unit. My question is in regards to the Fridge door. Has anyone ever removed the plastic molding shelves from the door? It takes up a significant amount of space in the fridge.

Taking it off is easy enough, there are a ton of screws but that is no problem. The questions I have are:
    • What do I replace it with? Plywood/plexiglass/etc?
    • How best to fit the seal around it.

Any advice would be much appreciated...

Well I'm no frig expert.. but if you can still keep the seal in place with removing the door panel.. go for it. If it ruins the seal, I would keep it in place and probe the shelves making sure no cooling lines are in there.. And if its all good.. sawsall them bad boys off. And then cozmo them up if you want.. But really, whos looking in there.

Comment

Originally posted by meyer_22 View Post
      Hey all - Im in the process of building my first kegerator. Im converting an older refrigerator/freezer (Bottom Fridge/Top Freezer) unit. My question is in regards to the Fridge door. Has anyone ever removed the plastic molding shelves from the door? It takes up a significant amount of space in the fridge.

Taking it off is easy enough, there are a ton of screws but that is no problem. The questions I have are:
      • What do I replace it with? Plywood/plexiglass/etc?
      • How best to fit the seal around it.

Any advice would be much appreciated...

My guess is you would want to stay away from using plywood. It would need to be sealed from moisture & probably too thick. Plexiglass might be a good option if you don't get it too thick. Too thick & it could change the way the door seals, i.e. gaps in the door.