Home Bar Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Home Bar Question

Okay, first time visit, first time post. Total newbie.

I just bought a nice 6' home bar that I'm pretty pleased with. It's got a space under that's deep enough for a kegerator but it would jut out a couple of inches, which I'm okay with. It would have plenty of room above and on the sides for ventilation, but not in the back.

I have two questions.

First, is that going to be okay?

Second is more complicated. What I want to do is install a single or double tap tower on top of the bar that I can run to a kegerator in the space underneath. Problem is a lot of the units I see, like kegco or edgestar, say they are free-standing use only. Does that mean I can't remove the tap tower from a typical kegerator and convert it for what I'm talking about? What's the simplest way to pull this off without spending a fortune?

Thanks in advance. I'm sure it's been addressed before but I didn't find it.

1st: Depending on the kegerator type and refrigeration system, placement in unit, if there is a condenser fan or just compressor. Honestly, you want to be able to get rid of some of that heat. If this unit has a condenser fan, you are not going to want to block this, at all! This is how the unit cools the refrigerant and recycling the heat will shorten the life expectancy drastically. If it is just a compressor, I would still want to get rid of some of that heat. Is it possible to drill some holes and install a couple 2-4 inch computer fans on the inside of the bar at area this refer deck is, pulling heat out and away?