New under-counter kegerator - mounting tower to granite

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New under-counter kegerator - mounting tower to granite

I'm a kegerator newbie, but we're building a new house and I got the green-light from management to install an under-counter kegerator in the kitchen. Hooray!

I'm so close to having this done. I just had the granite installers come out yesterday and drill a hole into the granite for the beer lines to run through. However, the guy told me that he wouldn't be able to drill the 4 screw holes I needed to mount the tower to the granite, because A) he didn't have a drill bit small enough, and B) even if he did, he was worried about the granite cracking with them being so close to the bigger hole. I didn't want to push him on it, because if he doesn't feel comfortable doing it, I don't want him to try.

I've done a lot of reading around several forums, and I've seen people say that drilling screw holes is no problem, and I've also seen people opt for a silicone adhesive instead, or even drill screw holes into a wooden plate which you then adhere to the granite using silicone. Plenty of options.

I've got a few questions regarding my specific install, being my first time installing one of these, that I would love some insight on. I also have pictures to go along with them so you can see what I'm working with.

1- Given the size of my main hole (roughly 1 6/16"), would anyone see a problem drilling 4 screw holes around it? In the picture I took with the rubber ring, you can see the screw holes would be just over 1" away from the edge of the bigger hole. This would be my preferred method of attaching to the counter, but I don't want to have to pay for a whole new slab and install if the risk of it cracking is pretty high. Otherwise, I'm happy to hire another guy to come out and drill them for me.