Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Old BM23 - Need advice on refurb

Hi everyone,
    I just purchased an old R12 BM23 from Craigslist for $125 and it came with a regulator and two 2lb Co2 tanks. The unit is in rough shape but runs well. The guy served me a cold beer from it when I came to pick it up. I plugged it up when I got home and it was cooling at around 35 degrees.

I want to clean it up really good, paint it, and start putting it to use, but I am am afraid of damaging something in the process and just need advise. I have very little knowledge when it comes to refrigeration and how delicate the parts are. So I have a few questions.

1. I took off the back cover on the bottom and the condenser, condenser fan, etc. is extremely filthy. What is the best way to clean these parts without damaging anything?

2. The inside is very rusty. I have seen a couple of builds online where people took apart their old BM23, removed the top, and repainted the inside with appliance paint and polished the stainless steel at the bottom. Is this a good idea? If I removed the top, would I break any seals and then have to reseal the top to the box? Is this hard to do?

3. Also, if I repainted the inside of the unit, it looks like I would have to remove the evaporator. Is there much of a risk damaging anything or causing leaks?

4. The evaporator motor still runs, but it looks like there is old fiber (?) tape around the bottom part of the motor. It is all soggy an gross. Would I be okay taking it off and just putting new electrical tape on it?

I found an old rebuild post from another user on the homebrew forums and plan to do almost exactly the same thing to the inside for reference https://www.flickr.com/photos/850340...7600351871098/

Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by Wrex21; 07-29-2015, 05:02 AM.