Wine Sputtering - one line on 6 line system not owrking

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wine Sputtering - one line on 6 line system not owrking

I have a 6 handle draft wine system in my restaurant that I built myself. I used all 304 micromatic parts off this site. I have been running it commercially for two years with no issues. And I'd be happy to discuss it with any restaurant owner who is on the fence (do it, i wish I had 12 taps)

However, I am having an issue with one line/keg. It is in plastic keg, but I have probably poured 20 of them, so please no tirades on plastic VS metal...in my experience both work well, and both sometimes have issues, and the product going to the consumer is identical quality.

So...wine was pouring fine, the keg kicked. New keg tapped...wine sputters out, lots of air in the line. Taped and untapped several times, pressure is good, coupler seems fine. I can't fix the sputtering.

So i ordered another keg, to see if it was teh keg vs. my system and I am having the same problem with the new keg. I tightened the nut on top of the coupler, the gasket "looks" fine, I put bubble solution all over and found no leaks...what do I do next?

The other 5 wines are pouring fine, and each line has a separate gas shut off (but one regulator for the entire system) The lines are about 5-7 feet, nothing major. All the couplers have 90 deg spouts on the top...but again system has been flawless for two years. So I am thinking something is not sealing, but i can;t figure out where.

Try tapping the problem line onto another keg and see if you have the same issue. This will tell you if it is a keg or equipment issue
    Colin Harrison
    Dbi Beverage Chico

Comment

Couple things...

1. Can you physically feel the line from keg to faucet. Want to make sure that there are no kinks in the line.