Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beer Line Cleaning Business Questions

Hi Guys,
    My name is Travis.. I work as a bartender and keg room mataince guy for Bj's Restaurant and Brewhouse. I just started doing the mataince part recently(the last few months). But I have come to understand the system so well, my knowledge surpasses all of my managers. I have fixed lingering problems that have plagued our system since we opened almost two years ago. We have a walk in cooler with 16 diffrent beer line, four of which are have quad chained kegs, as well as two 15 keg towers that we make and dispense root beer from, I do that all the root beer too.
    It is by far the most complicated and biggest system in the area. It's got me thinking though, after dealing with the two local distribution outfits in town, it's over whelmingly clear that I know more then the guys they send out to fix problems. I also know they don't clean any of the lines they handle unlessed ask, and even then they don't do it well or right. With over 1,000 restraunts and bars in this area and no other competition that I can find in the area besides the two distributors, I see a very large oppertunity to fill a need not being met.
    So what I ask is this, please help me with any information you are willing to provide to help me make this a reality. The only method i do know for cleaning, the one i was trained on at Bj's, we use cleaning cans, PBW, nitric acid, and water, in three step process in that order. I can couple two lines at a time, and run one keg of each through, I disassbemble the keg heads and tavern heads and i soak brush and rinse them, reesemble the whole thing and the beer come out crystal clear and crisp. I'm supposed to do this every two weeks but my managers are cheap and won't give the hours to this as often as it should be done.