Absolute complete newbie!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Absolute complete newbie!

I have been a craft beer fan for about 3 years now and recently have gotten into Bourbon and Whiskey. A friend of mine and I want to open a bar centering around these two things. We are slowly getting details together. Since I am the bigger Beer fan Im in charge of the research for it. I have been pricing kegerators for the last few hours. I understand the need for Co2 tanks, the tubing,regulators,keg couplers, and general cleaning of the Beer lines. What I am having trouble understanding is why i would purchase a 3-5 Keg Kegerator if it only has two taps. This is probably a dumb and eaasily answered question, however I am just learning about this stuff. I figure i would have to somehow convert to be able to use the 3-5 kegs in refrigeration. IDK. A simple explanation would be very much appreciated. (A complex one is also welcome) Would I be better off trying to Build my own?
    Cheers
    Last edited by KegStupid12; 01-08-2013, 08:28 PM.

KegStupid12,
    I guess you have to define what you mean by keg. I clicked on a 3 tap 3-5 MM, it will fit 2 1/2 w/ 1 1/6 or slim 1/4 (3 kegs, 3 taps, 5 kegs,5 taps with add-ons), and you can get a standard stand-alone, normally 2 tap but you can put 3 taps with an add-on (3 kegs, all small, 3 taps).
    So, go look at the size of kegs you want to pour, if they have them in 1/6 or slim 1/4, then get a BevAir BM-23 with add-on (3 taps). If the craft beers come in only 1/2 kegs, then you got to go with the big MM or True to get 3 1/2 kegs inside.
    So research the size of kegs you like, look at the resource section for different size kegs, I think the biggest DIY unit would hold 2 1/2 and 1 smaller keg, if you want larger you have to go the largest professional unit.
    KB

Comment