Faucets appear dirty after cleaning

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Faucets appear dirty after cleaning

I have an account that is a national chain that I have been cleaning for about 4 years. that restaurant is inspected by an independent auditor. The auditor will stick a wadded up cocktail napkin up the spout of the faucet and if the napkin comes out dirty the restaurant has points taken off. After I had cleaned the system the manager did the napkin check and found a brown stain on the napkin.
    The faucets are chrome plated brass and are very worn. I have suggested that they update to stainless steel faucets. I have found by check my other accounts that this does not happen with stainless steel faucets or older chrome plated brass faucets. This happens mostly with Perlick faucets.
    Is this happening because of poor quality brass? Has the low PH of the beer eaten away at the brass? Is this just normal oxidation? I have tried using different solutions, nylon brushes and ss brushes with the same result.
    Has anyone ever tried this method of checking faucets after cleaning?

Once the plating wears off and the brass is exposed, this situation appears. brass is a soft metal and somewhat porous. It does not impede bio growth as well as stainless. Micro Matic's stainless faucet has been utilized by numerous systems with great results. Line cleaners state that they are easily cleaned with a brush and hot water.
    Scott Zuhse, Instructor Micro Matic Dispense Institute

Comment

Mr. Zhuse may know the answer to this but does Micromatic offer their own version of the Perlick 425 S series? I could have sworn that there used to be Perlick faucets somewhere in this site. These faucets are also stainless and have a forward sealing design that keeps the inside parts from being exposed to outside air. I found one with a removable tip for $29 from KegCowboy