Remote Glycol System Cost and ROI
As a draught beer dispensing system goes, the more successful you are in maintaining temperature between the faucet and the keg, the less foam that will be realized. There is no better method in accomplishing this than a remote glycol dispensing system. Its main function is to keep the temperature of the beer consistent between the keg and the glass – allowing the end user to optimize their investment from the keg.
With this, the return on the cost of these systems tends to be rapid. Glycol systems come in many shapes and sizes and it would be difficult to list their specific cost in each configuration. To determine what the return on the investment of a system would be, we’ll use a common standard eight faucet remote glycol system with a cost of $10,000 installed.
Additional details consist of a 125’ trunk line run between the keg cooler and a standard “T” style polished stainless glycol ready tower with drip tray, dual gas blender and Pro-Max-1 empty keg sensors. This system has all the latest technology integrated to dispense a quality draught with minimal waste. No different, if not better, than if dispensed from a simple kegerator. The advantage of dispensing remotely versus from a kegerator would be there is no need to distribute kegs through a crowded bar every time a keg emptied.
These systems come in many configurations such as multiple tower locations, trunk line run lengths, glycol power pack size, tower design, etc. To determine your specific needs and costs, consult with your local installer. Refer to Micro Matic’s Dealer Installer Network or Business Directory for resources in your area.
To calculate your return on investment (ROI), we first need to determine what you intend to charge and your cost for a glass of beer. We’ll use an average price to customer of $4.50 for a pint (16oz. with a ¾” foam collar = 14oz actual) and $100 per 15.5 gallon ½ Bbl. keg. Remember, these are averages. Every keg dispensed would realize a profit of $532.00. This is based on 140 14oz. servings @ $.70 cost per pint. Profit per pint of $3.80 @ 140 servings equals $532.00.
With a system cost of $10,000 your payback or ROI would be accomplished after a little less than 19 kegs. With eight faucets, you would hope that you would be able to sell at least five kegs per week. The ROI would be less than one month. Does the microwave in the kitchen or that nice big flat screen TV garner that type of a return? Doubtful! The remote glycol system not only results in a quick payback, the profit potential from this machine can be huge.
Many bars and restaurants do not realize this fast ROI or profit potential. This is normally not the fault of the glycol system. Many performance issues are the result of dispensing from a warm keg from back stock or a keg that was just delivered. Bartenders can struggle with the correct operation of the faucet. And improper regulator adjustments from unqualified personnel or lack of system maintenance will greatly impact profit.
If you are in the market for a draught beer dispensing system, realize that for every 20 kegs sold, you will be able to justify $10,000 towards a remote glycol system. Makes you want to dispense draught beer in just about every area of your facility. Well, maybe not the restrooms!