Summit under-counter not getting cold and icing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Summit under-counter not getting cold and icing

I just installed a Summit under-counter kegerator (SBC490BISST) in my bar, but it doesn't seem to be able to get the temperature below 42 degrees. The cold plate also constantly ices over. I'm new to all of this and haven't been able to figure this out. I've made some modifications to it as advised by the forums that need to be pointed out.

1. Increased the hole on the top to 2.5" and installed a flexible plastic tube connecting the kegerator to the tower on top of the bar. The length is about 2 ft.

2. Added the tower cooling fan and tube as recommended. This included drilling a hole in the back for the fan's AC adapter.

I've put some of the window insulation tape around the inside of the kegerator around the tube and hole in the top and over the AC adapter hole in the back. The kegerator's door doesn't close that tight, but I really have no idea what I can do about that. I live in Texas where there is some humidity issues. What am I missing?

Do I need better sealant for the hole? Do I need to somehow wrap the connecting tube with something? What specifically? Is there a way to make the door seal more securely? The icing of the cold plate while not even getting the kegerator down to the recommended 38 degrees is concerning. This seems like it would only get worse if I can get it to actually get colder. On the plus side, what comes out of the faucet and the glass of water inside are the same temperature even after sitting overnight. It is quite foamy, however.

Thank you.
    Colin