Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pour rate

Hi All,

I hate to register just to post a question, but I am new to this and really don’t have any expertise to add yet.

I have a half keg of Sam Oktoberfest at 33 degrees in my spare refrigerator. I know that’s a little cold, but I really prefer it that way, and it doesn’t sound like that would be contributing to my problem. It’s about a quarter gone and 2 weeks old. I measure the temp by using a thermometer in a bottle of water that sits next to the keg.

I have 5 feet of brewery approve 3/16 line and the tailgate style pouring spout. I originally had the PSI set at 12 per the Sam Adams spec, but the flow was very quick, which results in a lot of foam. The beer itself doesn’t seem to be over-carbonated. Once I clear the foam it is quite fresh tasting, it’s just hitting the glass so fast I end up with a ton of foam. I get the same issue with cold glasses and room temp glasses. It’s better when I use a pitcher of course, but I usually drink a beer at a time so that’s not the answer.

Our elevation is 151 feet.

I spoke with the distributor and he said 8 PSI was okay and that should take care of it. I’m not convinced he was sure about that though. It did help a bit, but it was still pouring too fast.

I am leery about dropping the PSI down any lower. I’ve done a lot of looking around the web and it sounds like the line may be too short. I can certainly change that, but I don’t want to do that unless someone who knows what they are talking about thinks that’s the way to go (so of course I posted to anonymous people on the internet).

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

You can certainly lenghten your line in order to slow your flow rate down. Another problem you're likely having is that your PSI is set for what it should be when the beer is 38*. At 33* you should lower the pressure down to around 9 or 10 for Oktoberfest I believe.