• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vissani - Diagnosis Refrigeration

All,
    I have been researching the many posts on the Vissani to diagnose my issue:
    The unit won't cool at all.

A great thread that I have followed / tried is:

As noted in the link above I have tried turning the temperature limiter (screw on the temperature gauge). Over multiple days I have tried many turns in both directions but no luck.

The things I note are the following (I am not experienced with refrigeration so please excuse the poor descriptions):

1. Compressor (big round device on lower back) runs...a lot
    2. Compressor is very hot (hand on it more than 2-3 secs hurts)
    3. The white plate in the frig (condenser?) is room temperature
    4. I can hear liquid moving in that plate

I assume my issue is not with the temperature limitations but mechanical failure in the refrigeration functions themselves. I just don't know how to diagnose which part might be the culprit.

NOTE: I have had the unit for about 1 year but haven't used it much. It "worked" but never got the beer cold enough for real use. I believe that was primarily the default temperature limitation as noted by many. Now that I am trying to use that mod to make this work, I discovered that the overall refrigeration seems blown.

My goal is to see if this can be diagnosed and possibly repaired at a reasonable cost. I would really like to the use the unit as is. If that approach ends up being too costly I will then move to harvest the keg parts and look to covert another, better frig unit.

Your help is much appreciated.

Vissani

I also have found one of these systems on sale at a Home Depot clearance for $230.00

Should I take it back???

Comment