Newbie Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie Questions

I just bought the Sanyo unit from COSTCO. Set it up just as the lousy directions said with the parts that came with the unit. Now, I'm reading posts here that say something about cooling the tower? What does that do? Also, read something about the beer line. Do you mean that the tubing that came hooked-up to the head unit will not dispense beer without too much foam? Maybe I had I no idea what I was getting into? Thought I could buy the $699 Sanyo kit from COSTCO and be good to go. By the way, I only want to enjoy Sierra Nevada Pale Ale at home that is as good as what I get in bars. It taste totally different out the bottle. many thanks
    Edit/Delete Message

I am a newbie also. But here is the deal.. Do you need to cool the tower? Not unless you are getting a lot of warm foamy beer. To prevent this just waste a little beer before you pour of you have this problem. To Carbonate set the CO2 at 12-15psi for at least 24 hours. Then the CO2 can be reduced to around 8-10 psi to pour. The higher the pressure the faster the pour the more foam. So you need to tinker and a full keg requires a higher pressure then a empty keg to pour the beer and not foam. If you are not drinking (unheard of) then keep the pressure up to keep carbonated.
    The fridge temp should be set to keep the beer at the pour around 38-40 degrees F. We are not British and keep our beer cold. Don't get me wrong I like my Guiness a little on the warm side for most.

So the first keg will take a little tinkering to get it set right but over time you may find that you want to install a tower cooler. or more then one tap. You may find that you like a little more or less foam and adjust your pressure to your liking. You may also want to increase the pressure and install a longer hose to slow the pour.