Thorough Cleaning

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thorough Cleaning

Ok, so I've been using my setup for 5 years now and all works well, but I think I need to take this apart and do a thorough cleaning. Meaning maybe dismantle the tower and clean the tap etc, All I do is clean the lines between kegs with the cleaning solution that came with the system, and the spout of the tap with a brush. Do you all have any words of wisdom on this? Perhaps someone has documented a procedure here? Or maybe I need to do nothing at all?

Having a kegerator is probably the best and worst thing that happened to me. Best: I have great german/belgian beer on tap at all times. Every party turns into a beer fest with my friends who generally drink scotch and wine. Summer bbqs are 10 times better. Worst: Well, I can drink beer pretty much anytime i want (luckily I havent put on any weight due to it). Thats actually not a bad thing!!

You should throw the beer line away 4 years ago. The faucet should be disassembled when you clean every time, unscrew the bonnet - the round part just below where the tap handle ends. That should free up everything else. Soak it in the cleaning solution and brush it all over. The center section of the coupler is where the beer travels and should be cleaned each time too. Soak it and brush the bore clean, you will have to remove the check valve - either a ball and retainer or a little plastic spear and retainer.
    What I have: Haier two tap, 525 faucets, tower cooler, 10' lines

Comment

Originally posted by djc View Post